top of page
  • Writer's pictureShantelle Matos

With only a few days left...

As we are down to our last few days here in the Dominican Republic, I am about due to post a small list of things I have learned/felt/witnessed since being here.


1. Transformation happens in many ways

Living and working with the Lighthouse Projects has shown me what a life transformed looks like. I have said it before, but the mission that is happening here is literally shifting the entire community. I have spoken with many individuals who attend/work at the school and each of them said the main purpose of this school in this community of Los Alcarrizos is to share the Word of God. Everyone told us they have seen a change in the past years in the community and they believe it is because of the work being done through the school.


The program leaders have worked to build a ministry that is founded on God's love and His Word. The school (whose curriculum incorporates Gods Word in every subject - how amazing!) is the main entity of this project, as well as through short-terms teams who come down every year, the leaders have been able to work with the community members to meet their needs: building sidewalks/curbs in the streets, building homes for those who most need it in the community, creating a top of line water purification system which provides clean water to drink, jobs for locals, and affordable water for the community.


Transformation has happened (and is still happening) in peoples health, quality of life, and hearts - and it is continuing to happen every day. Children are learning about God's love for them and His goodness and taking it into their homes - bringing entire families back to God! I think that is one of my favourite testimonies I have heard... the impact the next generation is making. The community of Los Alcarrizos has significantly changed since the beginning of this ministry; the crime rates have decreased, health has improved, school attendance is growing, there are churches are almost every street of the community! HOW GOOD IS THAT!



2. Impact of donors and fundraising

If you've been following me, it has been pretty obvious that part of my job is that I get to fund raise $10,000 for the programs running down here. Asking people for money is a lil' uncomfortable at times. I was hesitant about having to do this as part of my job. I was unsure how I would actually do it and how people would respond. Since starting my job with iTeams, my whole perspective has changed - especially since being down in the DR. When I arrived in the DR and was blown away by the impact donations are making here. These programs literally can't run without donors and fundraising. The programs leaders here do an intense amount of fundraising by themselves too- it is part of their ministry and I actually would say fundraising is a ministry! Fundraising directly assists in the transformation of lives and communities!


To those who have given to my fundraising campaign: You are making a difference. You are getting behind a vision of seeing lives and communities transformed. You are choosing to live generously, something God calls us to do. You are apart of a move of God. You are directly working to see change and transformation continue to happen around the world. Together, as we give generously, we are propelling local leaders forward to continue to work God has called them into in their communities. So THANK YOU! Thank you for joining me in this and continuing to going forward!

You can donate here if you want to be apart of this impact: give.iteams.ca/forgeshantelle


3. Personal Lesson: Quality time is key

If you know me well, you know my schedule is very full when I'm back in Canada. I work two jobs, lead a team & volunteer in church, value spending time with my friends, maintain a solid exercise/running schedule, and oh yeah... sleep a lil' bit in between all that.


Since being in the DR, God's been shaking things up for me. My pace of life has changed here - drastically. We work during the day, but the work is very relational vs. task based (like most work back home is), we are spending a lot of time building relationships with the program leaders which has been one of the most valuable aspects of this job.


Aside from our work of having interviews, conversations, collecting data, we have had a lot of 'down time' as well. I am not one who used to thrive or enjoy an excessive amount of 'down time' (as you can see above in my life/schedule I had in Canada). After a few meltdowns of feeling like I was going crazy with having not a lot to do (which I think was really me just being afraid of being with my thoughts, dealing with things I've just pushed aside rather than working through - LESSON RIGHT THERE: take the proper time to work things out with God), God has awakened me to the extreme value of investing on truly being still and investing in spending quality time with Him; and oh how I yearn for these lovely these quiet hours of my day now!


God has been working things out with me in the hours of quiet and stillness. He has shown me how He is the closest friend & love that I will ever have.


God and I have had a lot of time just the two of us. I am thankful for down time, for the quiet times I have because that is quality time I get to spend with God. I know moving to Guatemala next week and then coming home next month will be a change of pace yet again, but I now realize the value of investing in the quiet, of quality time with God. You need a lot of quality time to build a relationship with someone; it is a time to learn about the person, grow a deep connection, let them into your life, time you're able to vulnerable... so what makes relationship with God any different? Especially when He is the one who is forever with us and He is Love.


Value your quality time with God and INVEST in it!

When you invest in that quality time, it will transform your days and relationship with Him. The return on investment will be a strengthened & constantly growing relationship with God... moving you from seeing God as a God who loves me, I guess ... to... that's my God, someone who desires to be with me, who loves me, who is always for me and right beside me.


Well, that's it for me now! Thank you for taking the time to follow along on my journey - taking time to read my blog, praying for me, sending me encouragement & supporting the fundraising campaign. Fundraising is still happening - join in on the impact today: give.iteams.ca/forgeshantelle



XO,


Shantelle






PS: Guatemala is four days away! I am looking forward to see how God is working there through Senderos de Luz ... check out my blog here to read a bit more about what their program is all about:

https://shantellematos.wixsite.com/iteams/blog/senderos-de-luz-guatemala



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page