top of page
  • Writer's pictureShantelle Matos

Change of Pace

You know when you have those weeks where you don’t know what day it is? That’s been week one here in the Dominican Republic. I was able to take some time today to reflect on my time here so far. With this job & working in a new culture, I have realized the season I am in now has brought a whole new change of pace to my life. Back home, our work days are set. You go to the office at 830 and leave at 430... that’s that (generally). Here though, Kelsey and I have both realized that we adjusting to a whole new way of life. My days here go like this: breakfast @ 8am… then we don’t know. Generally, days are not set (and generally are not planned till that morning at breakfast). For me, someone who loves a colour coordinated schedule and calendar… this has been a bit hard.


I mentioned two posts ago that I felt God was calling me into a new season of life. What I am realizing, is that God is also setting a new pace as well. I am learning to let go of control, as I have done so this past week, I have had my eyes opened to so much when I release control, stop fussing about 'a schedule' and am open to having God to show me what He is doing here.

Although there are days that may be hard, and adjusting isn't easy... I am a firm believer that growth and comfort do not go together. Sometimes you got to get a little uncomfortable, trust God in it, and allow Him to grow you.


I am so blessed to be working alongside the local leaders here. Daily I am encouraged by the people here. Everyone we have talked to thus far has so much joy and hope. The people here do not let their circumstances define them, they do not find their identity in what the outside world calls them. The world may label them as poor - physically… but it is evident in our conversations that they know they SO wealthy in Spirit. They find their identity in God!


God is oh so present here. Everyday we are hearing about how lives have been transformed and we see evidence of how the community has improved because of the influence of this school.


One story of transformation I want to share before I end off here:

The Love of God and Grace of God is cascading from one person to another here.

The past few days we have been interviewing the teachers to learn more about their experiences and lives working here. I am not lying when I tell you that in every interview, each teacher said that in every class, the children are learning about God, understanding His love. They say every week in Chapel, new children accept Jesus! (How encouraging is that alone!?) But more than that, the teachers were telling us story after story about how the children would then go to their homes, tell their parents about Jesus or how they prayed for their parents circumstances. The parents hear this, see behavioural changes and then… AND THEN THE PARENTS COME TO ACCEPT CHRIST! whaaaaat. SO AMAZING.

Now, this is only scratching the surface of the transformation stories and I can’t wait to share more in the weeks to come! I know God is impacting the lives of the children and families here - they situations may not be "comfortable", coming to a new school may not be easy for the kiddo's but look at how God is growing them, their families and this whole community!



The best part is, you can be apart of seeing lives and communities transformed too! I am currently raising funds that will support the programs in the D.R. and Guatemala - I believe you are able to see how God is working here and I want to invite you to join me in living generously & contributing to the work being done! → give.iteams.ca/forgeshantelle


Until next time!

Xo,

Shantelle

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page