top of page
  • Writer's pictureShantelle Matos

Seasons Change

The best season of all is upon us... autumn. I love autumn. A lot. Mainly because you can distinctly see seasons changing and its beautiful. The sun is always golden, the trees are constantly changing as their leaves begin to change colours and drop. The old leaves are being released from their branches as a new season arrives.


As silly as it may sound, I have related myself to a tree a lot recently. Some of you may have laughed out loud at that one but let me explain it.


1. Trees are planted, always.

In the recent season of my life, I have had a lot of change, but the whole time I have been planted deeply in God; recalling constantly that He has a specific purpose and calling on my life, and in Him I find my identity.


Though life changes, God never does. His promises are always true.


Therefore, I am like a tree because I am planted and rooted deeply in God!


2. Shedding old leaves... to make way for new ones

I have been through a lot of transition this past month - relationships changing, a new job (which is the whole point of this blog... keep reading), and stepping into new opportunities at church. Like leaves loosing their old leaves, I feel like God released a lot of 'old' stuff from my life recently. God makes ways for us to enter into new seasons and that sometimes means leaving some things behind in order to move into the new things He has in store for us.


Let's remember that trees are preparing for the next season when they shed leaves, it leaves room for new leaves to bud. Therefore, I am like a tree because God removed things from my life in order for me to step into the new He had for me!



This all to say - I relate to a tree (still may seem funny, I know). But as I have entered a new season that is BEYOND incredible so far, it doesn't mean it has been the easiest at times. I have gone through some hurt, exhaustion, and feelings of being overwhelmed with juggling my schedule.


Even though transition isn't the easiest at times, it gets easier when you choose to lean on God and praise him through ALL of it; the easy and hard times.


As I noticed I was entering into a new season of life, I started to thank God for what He was doing - choosing to praise Him through the hurt, the unknowns as well as through excitement of all that was happening and all that was to come. As I praised Him, I received joy - like crazy amounts of it! I've realized the incredible God-strength and God-confidence I get from Him on a daily basis as I continue to turn to him in moments of sadness and moments of joy.


I hope you too can begin to realize as you root yourself in Christ and lean on Him, when seasons change and storms come your way, He will get through it all. And guess what is waiting on the other side of that transition or storm? A NEW season, opportunity, friendship, relationship, job, etc! Whenever there is a transition from season to season, something NEW happens.


Now, enough life thoughts from me and onto the point of this blog post (and the best part of this new season)...

 

God brought me into a new job this month... not just any job... but a job that I know He has been preparing me for for years! I am currently working for International Teams Canada (www.iteams.ca) as their Forge Intern. I am beyond stoked about coming into work every day and getting to do the work I do! This is like my dream job - the work I am doing makes me so excited!!! Also, my co-workers are incredible and this is a faith based organization which is a major blessing for the workplace environment and my own work gets to reflect God! So great!


The work I am doing involves visiting two programs that iTeams supports, fundraising for these communities, and creating reports when I come home on the progress and future goals of the programs.


Next week (6 days away now!) I will be leaving for the Dominican Republic for October and then Guatemala for November. While living in these countries, me and my fellow intern (everyone say hi to Kelsey) will be building relationships with the local leaders and communities and through conversations we will be reviewing how the programs are doing to tangibly and spiritually transform those living in the communities.


This blog will be used to keep you all up to date on what we are learning and stories of how the lives of individuals are being transformed through the programs being run and through God's love!


I hope you are able to follow my journey here (and on the Insta too @shantellebreanne) and get behind the vision of iTeams and support the programs.

God has already been transforming my life and I can't wait to experience how He is working around in these communities I get to visit. If you want to contribute to this, you can join me in donating to iTeams (give.iteams.ca/forgeshantelle). The money donated goes directly towards the improvement and continuation of the programs I'll be working alongside (read more under the "DONATE" page.


Stay tuned next week for another update!!!


Xo,

Shantelle


93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page